Thursday, February 14, 2008


Story: Samuel Duodu, Dormaa-Ahenkro

People from all walks of life including politicians, traditional rulers, educationists and religious groupings last Saturday joined the Dormaahene, Osagyefo Oseadeyo Agyeman Badu II, and the Queen of Dormaa Traditional Area, Nana Akosua Fima II, to mourn their late father and Atipimhene, Baffour Kwadwo Yeboah, at Dormaa-Ahenkro in the Brong Ahafo Region.
The late Atipimhene, known in private life as Mr R.K. Mensah, a 74-year-old retired educationist, was interred at the Royal Mausoleum at Dormaa-Ahenkro.
Mourners clad in all kinds of funeral clothes danced to traditional and cultural music at the funeral held at the forecourt of the Abampredaase, the Palace of the Dormaahene.
As expected, the all-female fontomfrom group from the Brong-Ahafo Centre for National Culture also performed at the funeral.
Present at the funeral was a government delegation led by Professor Christopher Ameyaw Akumfi, Minister of Harbours and Railways; the Brong-Ahafo Regional Minister, Mr Ignatius Baffour Awuah, and some regional executive members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), while the National Democratic Congress’s delegation was led by the party’s founder, former President J.J. Rawlings, National Chairman, Dr Kwabena Adjei, and other regional executive members.
Among the paramount chiefs who attended the funeral were Oseadeeyo Akumfi Ameyaw IV, Omanhene of Techiman Traditional Area; Beyeeman Bosea Gyanatwi IV, Omanhene of Drobo Traditional Area, and Nana Yaw Kagbrese, Omanhene of Yeji Traditional Area, all in the Brong-Ahafo Region.
Other dignitaries were Mr Joe Issaka, Head of the Civil Service and Mr Justice L.L. Mensah, a Supervising High Court Judge in Sunyani.
The late Baffour Kwadwo Yeboah was described as a father, an administrator, a disciplinarian and a very compassionate person by many who worked with him until he gave his last breath on December 16, 2007.
He left behind seven children including the Omanhene and Obahemaa of Dormaa Traditional Area, Oseadeyo Agyeman Badu II and Nana Akosua Fima II, respectively.

No comments: