Monday, May 4, 2009


A street procession through the Techiman town was what greeted the endorsement of Mr Alex Kyeremeh, a former Member of Parliament for Techiman North, as the new Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for Techiman in the Brong Ahafo Region.
The President’s nominee polled 57 votes out of the total 60 votes cast at the emergency meeting held at Techiman on Wednesday.
Moments after the election result was declared by the Techiman Municipal Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), Mr Kwabena Asante, it spread through the town like ‘wildfire’ leading to the street procession and jubilation across the town.
Mr Kyeremeh, 47, who holds a Bachelor of Science (Bsc) degree in Accounting and Finance, in his acceptance speech, expressed his appreciation to the assembly members for giving him the nod and pledged to work assiduously to justify the confidence reposed in him.
He said the problems facing the municipality were lack of education, roads, water, irrigation for farmers and extension of electricity to rural communities, and expressed the hope that together with all stakeholders, they would confront the challenges to help bring about an improvement in the living conditions of the people.
Mr Kyeremeh further pledged to champion the cause for the establishment of a tertiary education to help tackle the unemployment problem among the youth of the area.  
The assembly also elected a 39-year-old educationist, Mr Adjei Mensah, as the Presiding Member. He obtained 41 out of the total 60 votes cast.
Two other candidates, Nana Sekyere Boateng and Asa Baffour Seidu, both Assembly Members for Kuntusu and Krobo electoral areas who also filed their nominations to contest withdrew before voting began.     
The new MCE and the PM were sworn in by the Techiman Circuit Court Judge, Mr Michael Ntumy.
Among the dignitaries who witnessed the proceedings were the Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, Mr Kwadwo Nyamekye-Marfo and Oseadeeyo Akumfi Ameyaw IV, Omanhene of the Techiman Traditional Area.
Both personalities commended the assembly members for showing maturity by voting to endorse the President’s nominee.                     


No comments: