Monday, February 23, 2009


By Samuel Duodu, Sunyani.

NINE out of the 10 individuals who filed their nominations to contest for the Council of State membership for the Brong Ahafo Region have withdrawn their candidatures.
The sole contestant for the Council of State elections in the region now is Mr J H Owusu Acheampong, 68, a Master of Science degree holder in Agriculture Economics and former Minister of Food and Agriculture in the first NDC administration.
Those who have withdrawn their nominations are Pemampem Yaw Kagbrese V, 58, the Paramount Chief of Yeji Traditional Area, Nana Kwaku Dwuma Ankoana II, 60, Paramount Chief of Seikwa Traditional Area, Mr Kwabena Kyere, 73, a former Deputy Minister of Education in the first NDC regime, Nana Dr David Kwabena Mensah, 53, a Development Specialist and Nana Kwadwo Sito, 53, the Paramount Chief of Banda Traditional Area.
The rest were Mr Kwaku Dartey, 46, a teacher, Usman Fakih Suallah, 27, a journalist with the Ghana News Agency (GNA) in Sunyani and Nana Sabe Damoah, self-employed.
The list of the contestants was made available to Graphic Nsempa in Sunyani by the Regional Electoral Commission (EC) office.
Officials at the office said at the close of nominations, 10 people had submitted their nominations forms to contest for the single slot.
However, the nine people who had earlier filed their nominations to contest the elections sent letters to the office to withdraw their candidatures leaving Mr Owusu Acheampong as the sole candidate.
Consequently, the Regional Directorate of the EC had sent letters to 22 municipal and district assemblies in the region to select two representatives each that would form the Electoral College to elect the region’s representative to the Council of State.
The Regional EC office gave the names of the districts that have so far submitted the names of the two representatives to form the electoral college as Kintampo South, Atebubu / Amantin, Sene, Kintampo North, Jaman North, Berekum, Tano South, Asunafo South, Sunyani West and Tain.
The office said the election, which was initially slated for February 10, 2009, has been postponed to February 24, 2009 upon a request made by the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development.
The request was to allow a proper constitution of the district assemblies.

No comments: